TED-like Conference Gets Greenlight

February 9, 2008 at 12:29 pm 1 comment

green_signalSome might call me a TED evangelist I guess. Although I haven’t attended this conference (I’ll be attending TED@Aspen in a few weeks), I love the concept of this meeting. I think it is such a great idea that I’ve proposed running a similar conference within my own corporation. I should be able to find 15-20 TED-like presenters across our 80-90K employees. The idea of an internal conference of this type has clearly resonated with everyone I’ve discussed the proposal with. We’ll have a very modest budget, but that will likely improve the audience engagement. People will have to “vote with their feet” to attend, and negotiate for travel funding (only 150 will be accepted).

A few days ago I received “official” management approval for the conference. It’s now time to get serious and begin work identifying speakers, picking a date and setting up an internal website. Colleagues will be given the opportunity to nominate speakers, apply to the conference, and take part in the company-wide dialogue. It will be a fun project and after announcing the conference on my internal corporate blog, I’ve already had two people volunteer to speak, and others offer their help and support.

photo by Redvers

NOTE: eman’s views has now moved to emansviews.com. I hope you’ll stop by. 

Entry filed under: TED. Tags: , .

TED 2009 Registration Online The World Is Flat

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Peter Quinn  |  February 9, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Peter Quinn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


archives

Site Visitors


